WETEK Play

We are looking for a person who can help us with writing articles and texts for our website. If you are familiar with OpenELEC and Kodi and you like writing articles (in english) please contact sraue via PM or via our IRC chat.

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Samba Issues

Samba Issues 2 years 10 months ago #1

• rsp
  • Junior Boarder
First let me say that I am new to OpenElEC but I am thoroughly impressed. I have a home built box with an I3-2125 intel processor. I first loaded the stable Dharma version but quickly decided to move to the 1.99.2 version. I had a couple of issues to overcome but after searching through the forum I was able to resolve all but one. I am no longer able to view the htpc box through SAMBA from either my Ubuntu or Window laptop. When I first installed 1.99.2 I did see the htpc box on the network and was able to successfully copy a few movies over the installed SSD but since then I have been unable to view the drive/files. I can SSH into the machine but no go for viewing through the network.

I did search through the forum trying to find an answer and I did find and apply this
wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?title=Troublesome_SAMBA_Shares
but still I am unable to see the htpc box on the network. Below is a what I currently have in the /storage/.config/samba.conf file. Is there something incorrect or missing? I tried shutting down all computers on the network and reboot starting with the htpc box but to no avail. When I try to view the network from my Ubuntu laptop I get a 'Unable to mount location - Failed to retrieve share list from server' error message. Does anyone have any suggestions or can point me to a potential solution.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Currently in my /storage/.config/samba.conf.

[global]
server string = OpenELEC
workgroup = WORKGROUP
domain master = yes <-- Added as per instructions
local master = yes <-- Added as per instructions