• Page:

TOPIC: Samba Issues

Samba Issues 2 years 2 months ago #1

• rsp
  • Junior Boarder
First let me say that I am new to OpenElEC but I am thoroughly impressed. I have a home built box with an I3-2125 intel processor. I first loaded the stable Dharma version but quickly decided to move to the 1.99.2 version. I had a couple of issues to overcome but after searching through the forum I was able to resolve all but one. I am no longer able to view the htpc box through SAMBA from either my Ubuntu or Window laptop. When I first installed 1.99.2 I did see the htpc box on the network and was able to successfully copy a few movies over the installed SSD but since then I have been unable to view the drive/files. I can SSH into the machine but no go for viewing through the network.

I did search through the forum trying to find an answer and I did find and apply this
wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?title=Troublesome_SAMBA_Shares
but still I am unable to see the htpc box on the network. Below is a what I currently have in the /storage/.config/samba.conf file. Is there something incorrect or missing? I tried shutting down all computers on the network and reboot starting with the htpc box but to no avail. When I try to view the network from my Ubuntu laptop I get a 'Unable to mount location - Failed to retrieve share list from server' error message. Does anyone have any suggestions or can point me to a potential solution.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Currently in my /storage/.config/samba.conf.

[global]
server string = OpenELEC
workgroup = WORKGROUP
domain master = yes <-- Added as per instructions
local master = yes <-- Added as per instructions
preferred master = yes <-- Added as per instructions
os level = 100 <-- Added as per instructions
netbios name = OpenELEC
security = share
guest account = root
socket options = TCP_NODELAY IPTOS_LOWDELAY SO_RCVBUF=65536 SO_SNDBUF=65536
smb ports =445
max protocol = SMB2
min receivefile size = 16384
deadtime = 30
os level =20